'You don't even deserve a plastic cup', 'is this a prank' ... _ Netizens mock Abiodun's award on security
Home - News

'You don't even deserve a plastic cup', 'is this a prank' ... _ Netizens mock Abiodun's award on security

July 9, 2024

'You don't even deserve a plastic cup', 'is this a prank' ... _ Netizens mock Abiodun's award on security

Admin By Adewale Adewale
  • 790
  • 10 min
  • 0

Netizens have flooded the X verified handle of Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State @DapoAbiodunCON, to query what the governor has done in Ogun State to deserve a Distinguished Award for Security Delivery in Nigeria.

At the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service organised by The Best Strategies Media, in collaboration with the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Sunday, Governor Abiodun received the award for Security Delivery amongst states.

Represented by Vice President Kashim Shettima, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu presented the award to Abiodun and 43 others.

Governor Abiodun described the award as a 'recognition of our pragmatic approach towards addressing security issues' in Ogun State.

Majority of a total of 109 Netizens, as at the time of filling this report, who engaged the post on the governor's handle queried why Dapo Abiodun deserved the award, with many describing him as the worst governor in the history of Ogun State.

While many asked if the event was actually a prank, other maintained that the governor himself knows he never deserved the award.

Many others also flooded the comment section of the post to ask the governor to fix Ogun State roads. Abiodun has been trending for days on the internet over bad roads in the state.

One of the first callers on the post, Olorogun Ernest, @OlorogunErnest said the governor know in him that the award was a joke.

He said, "Award? Be like my eyes dey pain me. Even the governor knows deep down that this award is a joke."

@RockUnder2 who spoke to the award hinted that Abeokuta, the state capital has been under siege of cult killing since January but peaked in April with several lives lost.

He wrote, "The state capital has been under siege of cult killings Since January and peaked at April and still rampant as we speak. Several life were lost within Abeokuta and no single statement came from the state governor. The state has no commissioner for Youths and no plan no youths."

OrishaGbongbon with user name @FashmanTee, while describing the award as a 'show of shame', commented that governor Abiodun doesn't deserve a plastic cup, not to talk of an award, adding that his administration is the worst thing to have happened to Ogun State.

He said, "Show of Shame! Oga @DapoAbiodunCON, you don't even deserve a plastic cup. Your tenure is the worst thing that has ever happened to your state. They deserve better. The awarded and awardee ENKR!"

Ogbeni Saheed with user name Ogbeni Sealdor, said he didn't see why the governor deserved award saying Abiodun has done nothing in Ogun State.

He said, "Man you do nothing here in ogun state ooo. I don't even understand this country anymore. I haven't seen why you deserve any award sir."

Another user, @akjay4 asked how much Dapo Abiodun paid for the award while George Isah Philip queried what exactly the award was for.

@akjay4 wrote, "How much did you pay to get this award? Say the truth, I won't beat you." George added by saying, "Co ask, the award is for what exactly is my point."

Sulayman Olasunkanmi, another user with user name @whayanation247 maintained that the organisers of the award are not in tune with what's happening in Ogun State, adding that the day they visit Ogun, the award would be retrieved.

He accompanied the comment with a picture of a very terrible road, obviously from the State.

Sulayman said, "I'm very sure, this people wey dey give you award never visit Ogun State before, the day they come here they'll have to collect their award back."

Another Netizen, a printing advertising expert with the name Exemplary Banky, maintained that governor Abiodun is the worst thing to have happened to the people Ogun State, describing him as the worst governor in Western Nigeria.

He said, "You are the worst thing to happen to the people of Ogun state and the worst government in the western part.... All we need from you is to govern and fix Ogun road.

Kelani Tolu, with user name SOBTEKS asked, "Shey the award no shock you too?" While Olamide Miles, with display name 'Son of a Cow Dealer asked, 'Is this a prank?"

@AdesinaOyedele under the Abu Mariam opined that stakeholders in the All Progressives Congress, APC need mental evaluation, saying giving award to the worst governor is not just wickedness, but a sign of mental instability.

He said, "APC stakeholders and members need mental evaluation. Something is definitely wrong in that evil party.

"Giving award to the worst governor isn't just wickedness, some mental instability is definitely in it."

Abdul Gaffar Kilanko with user name @kilanko3 was of the opinion that Governor Abiodun couldn’t have scored more than a -5, on the scale of 1 – 10, should he be accessed by the people of the state.

He said, “Oga you're not doing well at all. Come home let's access you on the scale of 1-10. Am sure you'll score -5.”

Among the 43 other persons who clinched the awards are General Abdulsalami Abubakar (Peace Building award); Senate President, Godswill Akpabio (Parliamentary Excellence award); Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Tajudeen Abbas (Parliamentary Excellence award); Chief of Staff to the President, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila (Leadership and Administration award), and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President (Office of the Vice President), Senator Ibrahim Hadejia (Administrator par Excellence award).

Governors Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa, Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara and Peter Ndubuisi Mbah of Enugu were recognised for interventions in specific sectors in their respective states.

Others include FCT Minister, Nyesom Wike (Infrastructure Delivery award, Federal); Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Mr Olayemi Cardoso (Monetary Policy Reforms award); President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote (Industrial Revolution award); former SGF, Boss Mustapha (Lifetime Achievement award), and Founder/Chairman of Zenith Bank, Chief Jim Ovia (Lifetime Achievement in Banking award), among others.

Prev Post

Pro-Wike lawmakers are delusional, gone - Fubara declares

Next Post

Former LG officials urge Abiodun to pay outstanding entitlements


Get every weekly update & insights

Comment(s) 0

Leave a Reply