Senate confirms nomination of 11 Supreme Court justices
Home - News

Senate confirms nomination of 11 Supreme Court justices

Dec. 21, 2023

Senate confirms nomination of 11 Supreme Court justices

Admin By Adewale Adewale
  • 393
  • 2 min
  • 0

The Senate, Thursday, confirmed the appointment of 11 Justices for the Supreme Court, nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

This followed the consideration of a report from the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal matters.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Mohammed Tahir Monguno (APC, Borno North) presented the report of the screening and approval of the nominees at plenary on Thursday.

In his contributions, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu stressed that the funds allocated for the Supreme Court from the 2024 budget be reviewed upwards in order to ensure its effectiveness.

He said, “The Senate should look at the budget of the Judiciary because even the state courts are in a mess, so how can they give good justice. This is not the way it was before, we were doing better.”

On his part, Senator Seriake Dickson (PDP, Bayelsa West) urged that in the event of subsequent vacancies, a provision for their immediate replacement should be made.

He said, “Anytime these vacancies occur they should be filled immediately.

“I want to draw that to the attention of the President. There shouldn't be a delay so that we don't become a laughing stock.”

The 11 shortlisted Justices, who were confirmed by the Senate includes, Justice Jummai Sankey (North-Central), Justice Moore Adumein (South-South), Justice Haruna Tsammani (North-East), Justice Chidiebere Uwa (South-East) and Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South-East).

Others are Justice Obande Ogbuinya (South-East), Justice Stephen Adah(North-Central), Justice Habeeb Abiru (South-West), Justice Jamilu Tukur (North-West), Justice Abubakar Umar (North-West) and Justice Mohammed Idris (North-Central).

Recall that President Bola Tinubu in a letter on Wednesday, 20 December, 2023, requested the Senate to screen and confirm 11 justices recommended for the Supreme Court bench.

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio who read this letter on the floor of the Red Chamber thereafter, referred the nominees to the Senate Committee on Judiciary for screening and further legislative input.

Also following the presentation of a report from the Senate Committee on National Identity Card and National Population chaired by Senator Abdul Ningi (PDP, Bauch Central), the Senate confirmed Oladunjoye Saidat Olayinka as Commissioner representing Lagos State in the National Population Commission (NPC).

Prev Post

Just In: Yusuf Adepoju withdraws petition against blogger, 'Awikonko', after retraction of defamatory allegations

Next Post

APC Chairmanship: Oshiomole posed the biggest, most destructive threat to APC - Amosun fires back


Get every weekly update & insights

Comment(s) 0

Leave a Reply